Prelude and Fugue for String Quartet

the fugue on a subject by J.S. Bach

Charles McCreery
Full details...
page one of Prelude and Fugue for String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The subject of the fugue is that of Bach’s ‘Little’ Fugue in G minor, BWV 578, abbreviated, and with a new counter-subject, which is developed on its own at bar 31.

There is a canon at the octave starting at bar 48 of the fugue, and the first and second halves of the subject are superimposed in the coda, starting in bar 60.

The Prelude is published as a separate piece on Scoreexchange here:

A comment on the Prelude: ’Our string quartet enjoyed playing this delightful piece, and we’ll certainly be playing it again. The parts are well written for the instruments, so we were able to sight-read through it without problems. I’d recommend this to anyone who likes a tune.’ Jill Elliott, Violinist

A video associated with the Prelude can be seen here:

Score ID
Charles McCreery
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Prelude and Fugue for String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...