Home > Trio > En Bateau - Petite Suite 1 - Guitar Trio (notation only)

En Bateau - Petite Suite 1 - Guitar Trio (notation only)

Claude Achille Debussy
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Trio (Classical Guitar [notation])
Instrumental parts

Petite Suite was written between 1886 and 1889 when Debussy was in his mid-twenties. The first movement, En Bateau, shows youthful exuberance; some of the harmonic inventiveness that was going to become his trademark in later years, including the whole tone scale, and is gorgeous and tuneful. Originally written for piano duet, it translates well to classical guitar trio. I have made a few changes due to range and the more subtle dynamics of the guitar but I kept as closely as I could to the first edition of the music. Guitar 1 has a few tricky moments, but overall the standard of this piece is easy to intermediate and would be good for exam material such as Music Medals. Enjoy and have fun.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Lisa Marie Gabriel. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.