Home > String trio > Bach: Sinfonia No.4 in D min, BWV 790 (three part invention no.4) arr. flexible string trio

Bach: Sinfonia No.4 in D min, BWV 790 (three part invention no.4) arr. flexible string trio

J S Bach trans Ray Thompson
Ray Thompson
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Classical music
String trio

Originally written for keyboard, this transcribes well for string trio. The original notes/range suit the vln/vln/cello trio but I have provided alternative viola parts for parts 2 and 3, and an alternative violin 3 for part 3. I have taken some liberties in the scoring to accomodate the various intruments ranges, and transposed other notes to avoid clashing wit the other parts. However as long as you cover all 3 parts, then it works!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Ray Thompson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.