Passacaglia in G minor for organ

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

I composed this piece on the Chapel organ in Chelsea Barracks, London, when I lived there during my time in HM Grenadier Guards Band. It was first performed at my own wedding in Cardiff in 1974. I arranged it for Brass Band in 1986 and it was tried out by the Rowntree Mactintosh Band in York that year. Since then it has lain unused in my possession until I put it on disk and edited it on Sibelius 3. Now you can have it. I used JS Bach's Passacalglia in C minor as a model, in which he begins with crotchet (1/4 note) movement and in each succeeding variation above his bass he adds quavers, triplets, quaver/semiquaver patterns, apreggios, running semis, triplet/semi patterns, pedal semis, etc. Enjoy!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Chris Robinson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Chris Robinson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.