Home > Duet > Once Three, Too

Once Three, Too

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For clarinet and bassoon in three movements:

I. At Play (Allegro vivo) II. Tantrum (Presto furiouso) III. Slumber (Tranquillo)

NOTES: When my daughter Tamar was 3 years old, I was inspired to capture her musically. She was an energetic and playful toddler who decided she didn’t need naps. She would play happily all day and then at 7:00pm, like clockwork, would start crying from exhaustion. This would go on for about a half-hour or so, then her crying would stop and she would slip into a deep, peaceful sleep.

This is the basis of this short piece for clarinet and bassoon I call "Once Three, Too." The title is something of a pun as the piece is in 3-2 meter (mostly), and all of us were once three, too.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Yitzhak Santis. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Yitzhak Santis has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.