Home > Quartet > Freuet Euch, Ihr Christen Alle

Freuet Euch, Ihr Christen Alle

Rejoice all you Christians

A. Hammerschmidt 1611-1675
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Soprano Recorder)

Andreas Hammerschmidt was a very popular organist and composer of the mid 17th century in Bohemian Germany. Most of his choral works were written in the concertato style, which was later changed to a cantate, made famous by J.S. Bach. The concertato style promoted a contrast between a soloist or group of solo singers and the tutti, or full choir. This is the style which is attempted in this arrangement for three solo instruments and an ensemble of recorders. There are a few changes from previous versions which were posted earlier. The key is also changed, as I find the lower registers work better with recorders.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Peter Baljeu. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Baljeu has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.