The City

Full details...
page one of The City

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was written for the Sibmus competition, "Pictures for an Online Exhibition." It gained an honorable mention in its current form. The artwork seemed very dreary to me, and it reminded me of TS Eliot's "The Wasteland." I wanted to capture a similar desperate need to get out and try to convey the crowded nature of cities in general. I am currently reworking the piece for a longer more "finished" feel. It will be up in the next couple of months.

Thoughts -

I knew I had to do something that I had never done, never studied, or never even thought about doing. I had to throw some atonality into this piece and get really creative. And it ended up being only very partially atonal, as most of the piece is based in A minor, I just couldn't go all the way with this. The artwork screamed confusion at me, and also made me claustrophobic and depressed. It reminded me a bit of TS Eliot's "The Wasteland," so I wanted to broadcast depression, confusion, utter helplessness, and even a sense of the walking dead. It didn't strike me until much later to use a chorus, and even later to come up with my own words. Anyways, I started off the piece quitely with, what I like to think of as, a Gershwin"esque" clarinet solo made dark and dreary with the trombone and pizz strings. Then I had these big scary chords, kind of like this one guy is walking around, and it dawns on him what a helpless dreary place this is, and it scares him. And "Boom" quiet. I break into the 12 tone melody that keeps doubling on itself, making things more and more confusing. We hear some city sounds in here, a car crash, an ambulance. Then a series of flat-lines in Oboe, Clarinet, and Bassoon, getting across that theme of death in the midst of the city. The chorus was pretty straightforward, I would have liked to make more versus and such, I just didn't want to make the peice too long. The painting was one of the most depressing things I had ever seen, and even if Leger didn't intend for it to be that way, it is what I saw, and the emotions it evoked in me.

Score ID
Year of composition
Taylor Silver
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The City

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...