Fauré: Pelleas et Melisande Op.78 Mvt. III. Sicilienne - wind quintet

G Fauré
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Fauré: Pelleas et Melisande Op.78 Mvt. III. Sicilienne - wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Sicilienne, Op. 78, is a composition for cello and piano by French composer Gabriel Fauré.

It was originally composed as part of the incidental music for Molière’s Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, but the piece was never used for it. It appeared as part of the incidental music the first English production of Maurice Maeterlinck’s play, Pelléas et Mélisande, and in the suite prepared for separate performance by the composer. In addition, it was published as a solo for cello (or violin) with piano accompaniment dedicated to the British cellist William Henry Squire (1871-1963)

Arrangements have been made for many instruments, accompanied usually by piano though sometimes by the harp or guitar. Perhaps the best known is that for flute and piano by Henri Büsser. I hve arranged it for wind quintet, from Faure’s orchestral arrangement. I made the decision to arranging it as though it had been composed for winds. I have omitted the piano/harp arpeggio, and instead have given sustaining notes (mostly to the horn). This still, I feel ,maintains the ethereal sound of the piece

Score ID
G Fauré
Ray Thompson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Fauré: Pelleas et Melisande Op.78 Mvt. III. Sicilienne - wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...