Jingle Bells Rag - Christmas Piano Duet or Solo

For two or four hand performance

James Lord Pierpont
Full details...
page one of Jingle Bells Rag - Christmas Piano Duet or Solo

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This arrangement includes both a full score (for piano solo) and separate scores (primo and secondo) for four-hand piano.

Combining elements of both ragtime and stride piano, the arrangement is fresh but instantly recognizable and should bring a smile to your listeners’ faces. The left-hand (or secondo) part is scored in typical stride piano style and will be challenging for most to play at tempo using just the left hand. For solo playing, it’s fine to omit the bottom note of the octaves on beats one and three so that the "jumps" are not so daunting, and it’s also okay to reduce the number of notes in the chords on beats two and four. That approach is more typical of original ragtime playing; the octaves and large jumps were a later development in the evolution from ragtime to stride. So, play all the notes if you are up to it and like the stride sound, and simplify things if necessary or to be truer to early ragtime playing.

Score ID
James Lord Pierpont
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
James Lord Pierpont
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Ragtime music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

You might also like...