Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op.46 No.8 in G minor "Furiant" - wind quintet

A Dvorak
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op.46 No.8 in G minor "Furiant" - wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Dvorak: Slavonic Dance Op.46 No. 8 in G minor) (Furiant) - wind quintet The Slavonic Dances (Czech: Slovanské tance) are a series of 16 orchestral pieces composed by Antonín Dvořák in 1878 and 1886 and published in two sets as Opus 46 and Opus 72 respectively. Originally written for piano four hands, the Slavonic Danceswere inspired by Johannes Brahms's own Hungarian Dances and were orchestrated at the request of Dvořák's publisher soon after composition. The pieces, lively and full of national character, were well received at the time and today are among the composer's most memorable works, occasionally making appearances in popular culture.

This is my arrangement for wind quintet of the most well known and popular one: No.8 "Furiant"

This is a long blow with all the repeats!! (Repeats are played in full on the D.C)

If you wish to shorten the piece possibilities are:

1.Ignore all repeats except for D.C. al Coda

2.Ignore all repeats including D.C. al Coda repeat…. i.e. play straight through

You will find other quintet arrangements of this piece, both on this site and elsewhere, where all 5 members of the quintet are playing continuously.

I have tried to give every player a "breather" so they are not playing "tutti" all the time.

I have omitted some of the faster quaver/eighth note passages, but my arrangement still maintains the "furious" feel of the piece.

In some areas I have reduced the harmonies of some the chords, but have I think, maintained the musicality.


Score ID
A Dvorak
Ray Thompson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op.46 No.8 in G minor "Furiant" - wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...