Home > Percussion ensemble > Muttekopf, score for Uchiwa-Taiko 2010

Muttekopf, score for Uchiwa-Taiko 2010

for 3 performers

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
World music
Percussion ensemble
Instrumental parts

Muttekopf is scored for four Uchiwa-Taiko (Japanese “Fan Drums”) performed by three players. It is a composition designed to explore the dialogs between the musicians using only simple tones from the instruments. The piece was written in a location called “Muttekopf ”, an Alpine cabin on a mountain peak in the region of Imst in Tirol, Austria. There are various sections of the composition that are inspired by the nature and geography of the area, such as the intimidation of the steep climb up the mountain, the rapid flowing streams and waterfalls, rocks falling into the canyon, the uneasy sense of balance along the peak, and the rapid descent returning down to the base. It is critical for the performers to have complete confidence and syncronicity between themselves for an optimal performance, with an emphasis on creating a musical landscape through expressive drumming.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Jarrod Cagwin. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jarrod Cagwin has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.