Home > Quartet > Six Romanian Folk Dances

Six Romanian Folk Dances

Bela Bartok
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music

Bartok's Six Romanian Folk Dances grew out of his work collecting and transcribing folk tunes from his native Hungary and the surrounding nations. First written for piano in 1915, these pieces were arranged for orchestra by Bartok himself, and for various other forces (notably for solo violin and solo clarinet, with piano accompaniment) by other hands.

This arrangement aims to evoke the Eastern-European sound world which is difficult to achieve on a piano. A soprano saxophone is used in three of the movements; this should aim to emulate the darker sound of the Tarogato (an instrument a bit like a wooden saxophone which is found in Hungarian and Romanian folk music), rather than the excessively thin and bright tone sometimes produced by soprano saxophonists. The melody of the third dance is often heard in violin harmonics, or on the piccolo in Bartok's orchestrated version. In order to find this type of sound from within the clarinet family I have scored it alternatively for A flat piccolo clarinet, or for overblown chalumeau in C (this instrument is fairly cheaply and readily available from folk instrument suppliers). If neither of these is available, an alternative part for Eb clarinet is supplied. All players should aim to sound as thin and feeble as possible in this movement! If necessary, the soprano saxophone parts in movements 2, 5 and 6 could be played on Bb clarinet, although at the expense of a more monochrome sound.

The score of this arrangement is offered free of charge: the intention thereby is to enable quartets to print out an 'approval' copy and decide whether they like it. If you like the arrangement and wish to perform it, please could you then purchase a set of parts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Peter Foster. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.