�clats pour piano

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

?clats is a set of piano miniatures. The music is derived from a 12-note series. After years of relative silence in composition, I view this as my true ?Opus 1?, warts and all.

Although ?clat can mean brightness or brilliance it can also mean a splinter of glass. It is this dual meaning I have in mind for the music. Either the note row is shattered into melodic fragments or the matrix itself is broken.

?clat i is a rhythmic palindrome. The notes are taken following the outside of the matrix centred on E.

?clat ii is an exploration of bell sounds. As I was writing it the death was announced of Michael Oliver. He was an intelligent critic and broadcaster and I dedicate this piece to his memory. It only uses the first 5 notes of the note row in a 5 square matrix centred on B flat.

?clat iii uses a seven square matrix again based on B flat. Its form is a simple palindrome. The music in the right hand explodes, contrasting against the introspective music of the left hand.

?clat iv opens with a rising arpeggio. Motifs come and go. The entire piece is played pianissimo.

?clat iv is a scherzo, all over in six seconds.

?clat vi rotates the row centred on E flat. The music is a three part ritual. This is a decorated equivalent to the static bell sounds of ?clat ii.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by tim ellis. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com tim ellis has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.