Come and Trip It

G.F. Handel
Full details...
page one of Come and Trip It

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Handel began work on "L'Allegro, il Penseroso, ed il Moderato" (HWV 55) on January 19, 1740. A pastoral ode, based on the poetry of John Milton, "L'Allegro, il Penseroso, ed il Moderato" premiered on February 27, 1740 along with Handel's B flat major Organ Concerto, Op7 No 1 (HWV 306). The aria "Come and Trip It" is from the "L'Allegro." The original aria is thirty seven measures in length followed by a chorus which takes up the melody and expands on the idea. Handel set this work in the key of c minor for strings, woodwinds, basso continuo, vocal soloist and pianoforte. This new arrangement of "Come and Trip It", using Handel's solo and chorus sections for material, allows the soloist more time to develop the light-hearted character of the piece. The lowered arrangement to b minor is also advantageous for the young female soprano voice because it protects the voice from the repetitious e flats that are in the original score. These e flats are in an uncomfortable passagio for most young female voices of today, but were quite appropriate for the young male voices of Handel's time.

Score ID
G.F. Handel
John Milton
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Come and Trip It

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...