Serial Suite No. 1 - Serially Good!

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

I have never really liked serial music so I decided to compose some in an attempt to make it more easily listenable to. I have tried to make it humorous and reasonably memorable whilst retaining the equality of all notes and no tonal centre. In places where the note-row has been stacked as chords the strict order of the row has been dropped in favour of an order which sounds better and is more easily playable. In number 3, only the left hand is strictly serial with the right hand being freely chromatic. In numbers 2 and 3 the gun shot and cymbal crash don't work…you'll just have to imagine them as I wasn't sure how to make them sound properly without making the entire stave sound the same. Would be grateful if someone could tell me how to do this - either by review or e-mail. Number four gives up serialism all together (as the title implies) before going back to serialism in the final piece. Number 5 has a brief quotation of 'Jingle Bells' in bars 1 and two (the 'dashing through the snow' part) but is still strictly serial. Please let me know what you think.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by William Taylor. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to William Taylor has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.