Home > Quintet > Sonata in G Minor for 5 Bassoons

Sonata in G Minor for 5 Bassoons

G.F. Handel
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Classical music
Quintet (Bassoon)
Instrumental parts

A local university is blessed with a goodly number of bassoonists, so I decided to try and give them a bit of fun. Except for the fact that this 'Trio' Sonata now has five bass parts and no treble, I stayed as close as I could to Baroque conventions for this 4-movement work. The first two bassoonists (in particular) had better be pretty good players in order for this to work. The second and fourth movement Allegros need to be a tad more stately than they could be if played with violins.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Virgil Barstad. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Virgil Barstad has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.