Horn OK Please

Full details...
page one of Horn OK Please

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This composition was written in India during a visit to Pune to study tabla in mid-1996. The composition bears its name from the enscription to be found on the hundreds of thousands of Ashok Leyland trucks to be found hauling goods on the rough roads between Bombay and Pune every day: truck owners paint the words on the rear of their trucks, to indicate that it’s OK to blow your horn at them (if you wish to overtake)! It represents the first English words I saw upon arrival, and, by virtue of the number of times I saw it, its quirky nature, and the mesmirized state I was in after my flight to Bombay, the name stuck! The composition systematically drills all the permutations of the major pentatonic scale - in all its transpositions and modes. The rhythmic interest has obvious associations with the Classical rhythms of North India. Horn OK Please has since been arranged for a sextet.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Solo instrument (4-string Bass Guitar [notation])
Jazz music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Horn OK Please

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...