Guide Tones Exercise In All Twelve Keys

The History of Western Music in one exercise

Full details...
page one of Guide Tones Exercise In All Twelve Keys

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is an exercise introduced to me by the great Alto Saxophonist Phil Woods. This is the history of western music in a simple exercise. Note: This is the "A" section of "Autumn Leaves", "M-A-S-H". It is realted to the bridges of "All The Things You Are", and "I’ll Remember April" which utilize the same progression but resolve instead to the parallel Major of the relative Minor, i.e. E Major instead of E minor.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Classroom materials

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Guide Tones Exercise In All Twelve Keys

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...