Verbum caro factum est

Orlandus Lassus
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece appeared for the first time in print in the first volume of the anthology Thesaurus musicus of Berg & Neuber, where it is number VIII of the 6-part pieces. The piece is presumably the Versicle and Response which are sung on Christmas Day, and during its octave. The text is drawn of course from the great Gospel reading of Christmas starting 'In principio erat verbum' (also set in its entirety by Lassus and published uniform with this edition).

And the Word was made flesh and dwelt among us and we beheld its glory, glory as of the Only-begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.

The original scoring of SSAATB translates best into SSATTB in terms of a modern mixed choir.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.