Inviolata integra et casta es Maria

Josquin des Pres
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

Josquin's Inviolata, integra et caste es Maria, a setting of a Sequence for the Blessed Virgin Mary, was one of his most popular pieces. It found a place of honour as the first of the 5-voice motets in Senfl's great collection Liber selectarum cantionum (LSC) of 1520 , generally assumed to be a retrospective collection of the repertoire of the Imperial Hofkapelle under Isaac. It takes the chant as its cantus firmus, treated in strict canon between the lower Tenor or Baritone voice and the Alto (there are no part names in LSC).

Josquin's canon treatment is interesting: in the first Pars the second voice follows at the distance of 3 breves, in the 2nd Pars the distance is reduced to 2, and in the third Pars to a single breve. The tonality of the piece is also fascinating, for in several sections the predominant 'F major' tonality is replaced by 'A minor' with corresponding changes in the signature. This fact has been overlooked in some other editions of the piece, and also surprised the present editor, who is not aware of any other examples of such 'modulation' at so early a date. The cancellation or reinstatement of the flat signature is not always simultaneous and is shown here in each voice as it occurs.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.