Etude for Left Hand

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Brahms was fond of turning R.H. pieces into L.H. etudes - he did so on at least two occasions with a Weber Rondo and a Schubert Impromptu - whether anyone can actually play these pieces is somewhat debatable! I have had a go at joining a long list of semi-unplayable compositions here myself and will challenge anyone to play it at even half my recommended metronome mark!

Handel wrote this work around 1718-1719 and it was first published in 1720 (Suites de pieces pour le clavecin, London, 1720 - Autograph MS, British Library, R.M.20g.14). Commonly referenced as HWV 427, this is the second movt. of the Suite No.2 in F major. It was a grade 7 piece (’A1’ from the 2005/2006 ABRSM book) and I didn’t know about this fine composition until I began teaching it towards the end of 2004.

It struck me that using Sibelius software, it might be amusing to have a go at some invertible counterpoint. All of the dynamics and fingering are mine and I have dropped both of the suggested repeats (where the apostrophe is found in the score - just before b.15 - both halves are suggested as repeats but IMHO it works better played straight through).

Hits 779, Prints 21.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan FeBland. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan FeBland has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.