Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Snare Drum)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece was inspired by the book "Aptitude, a conversation in snare soloing" which featured Thom Hannum, Jim White, Julie Davila and Jeff Prosperie. The book "melds contemporary and rudimental styles into an exciting colletion of musical expresion" and I really liked that idea. Preformance Direction: Measure 5: This 9/16 measure should be thought as 2/4 with an extra 1/16 note in it. If you were to break it down into different beaming grops as apposed to the tradtional beaming of 3, you will see that it is much more simple than it looks. Still make sure that you give that extra note its full value. Measures 8-12: These 5 measures are a slow build-up to "A". I didn't make a key for this piece so if not written otherwise, the top space of the staff is the edge of the drum. The 9/8 measure actually stops the cresendo but it works as a lead-in to "A". NOTE: As you will find in this piece and in many of my pieces, the traditional beaming of 4 of 1/6th notes in simple time is broken up into odd patterns, whether it is sticking or other rudiments. For example in measures 3,11,30 and 31 I use swiss army triplets inside the beaming of 4, so they arent triplets at all. Make sure when you are playing these passages you are always aware of the downbeat and the tempo. Also, dynamics (as always) are crucial in this piece and they should be as precise as the notes themselves.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lamagna. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mike Lamagna has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.