Peer Gynt

three movements from Suite I arranged for wind decet and double bass

Edvard Grieg arr. Philip Le Bas
Full details...
page one of Peer Gynt

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A new arrangement by Philip Le Bas of three movements of Grieg's "Peer Gynt Suite 1" for wind decet and double bass:

1. Morning Mood

2. Anitra's Dance

3. The Hall of the Mountain King

The three contrasting movements work well with a wind decet, retaining (and perhaps even enhancing) the bucolic, Spring-like effect of "Morning Mood", the sinuous, but light-footed dance performed by Anitra, and the dark, brooding, and ultimately hair-raising drama of the Mountain King's abode.

The 2nd flute is asked to double on piccolo in the third movement, and there are parts for clarinets either in A (as in Grieg's original) or in B flat (in 6 sharps for the first movement, however!) The triangle adds considerably to the dance quality of the second movement. It might be performed by a horn player, both of whom are tacet here.

Score ID
Edvard Grieg arr. Philip Le Bas
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Woodwind choir
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Peer Gynt

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...