Leonardo Leo - Concerto in A major L20 for Cello and Strings

for Violoncello, violins and Basso continuo

Leonardo Leo
Full details...
page one of Leonardo Leo - Concerto in A major L20 for Cello and Strings

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Neapolitan composer Leonardo Leo (1694-1744) was one of the forerunners of the Classical style, a composer primarily of opera. His experiments with a lighter, freer concept of melody in his comic operas spilled over into instrumental works like these delightful cello compositions of 1737 and 1738, which have a flavor all their own. They are in four (or five) movements rather than the conventional three, and their opening Andante movements, especially, show signs of the breaking-up of terraced Baroque structure that would lead eventually to the shifting motion dynamics of Classicism. Most striking is the role of the cello, which was not a common solo instrument at the time. Its relationship with the orchestra is not one of competition but of relaxed cooperation, with the cello joining the orchestra soon after the beginning of the music, or sometimes immediately at the beginning.

Score ID
Leonardo Leo
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
24 minutes
Orchestra + solo Solo Violoncello
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Leonardo Leo - Concerto in A major L20 for Cello and Strings

Reviews of Leonardo Leo - Concerto in A major L20 for Cello and Strings

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...