Prelude and Divertimento

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Duet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Another major work for my Bachelor degree - only two to go after this one! Originally this was going to be a more comic piece, and that's the reason there are a number of blatant quotations in there. You'll find bits of Rachmaninoff, Bartok, Grieg, Orff, Mozart and many others floating around this piece!

The Prelude and Divertimento is written for two Stuart and Sons pianos, which have extended ranges either end. I only explore the lower extension, which extends the piano to a low F0.

I have chosen to dedicate this piece to a man who has helped many a student over his years at the University of Newcastle, and is now retiring. Mr Philip Sketchley has been the Concert Hall Manager for the Conservatorium for several years now, and is well loved by all the students, and we will miss him. Thanks Sketch!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Kimpton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Kimpton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.