Una Furtiva Lagrima for C Tuba & Piano

Gaetano Donizetti
Full details...
page one of Una Furtiva Lagrima for C Tuba & Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

An arrangement of Una Furtiva Lagrima for C Tuba & Piano.

"Una furtiva lagrima" (A furtive tear) is the romanza from act 2, scene 8 of the Italian opera L'elisir d'amore by Gaetano Donizetti. It is sung by Nemorino (tenor) when he finds that the love potion he bought to win the heart of his dream lady, Adina, works. Nemorino is in love with Adina, but she is not interested in a relationship with an innocent, rustic man. To win her heart, Nemorino buys a love potion with all the money he has in his pocket. That love potion is actually a cheap red wine sold by a traveling quack doctor, but when he sees Adina weeping, he knows that she has fallen in love with him, and he is sure that the "elixir" has worked.

In an opera about fake potions and feigned emotions, Donizetti invests this aria with considerable pathos. It is set in B flat minor, a dark key with often tragic associations.

The time signature of the aria is the compound metre of 6/8. It changes to B-flat major on the words "Cielo! Si può morir!". The vocal range extends from F3 to A♭4 with a tessitura of B♭3 to A♭4.The last occurrence of the word chiedo is a coloratura melisma of 24 notes covering the range F3 to G4.

Score ID
Gaetano Donizetti
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Solo Tuba + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
United States of America National Anthem ''The Star Spangled Banner'' for Symphony Orchestra (World National Anthems Olympic Series), Greek & Cypriot National Anthem for British Brass Band (Imnos Eis Tin Eleftherian-Hymn to Freedom) , Armenian National Anthem "Mer Hayrenik" for Concert Band, Italian National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, Indian National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, British National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, French National Anthem ''La Marsellaise'' for Symphony Orchestra, Canadian National Anthem ''O Canada'' for Symphony Orchestra, Japanese National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, German National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, Malawian National Anthem (“Mulungu dalitsa Malawi” “Oh God Bless Our Land Of Malawi”) for Symphony Orchestra, Malawian National Anthem (Mulungu dalitsa Malawi - Oh God Bless Our Land Of Malawi) for Concert Band, Catalonian Territorial Anthem for Concert/Wind Band, Homage for Concert Band, El Matador ( Pasodoble) for British Brass Band, El Matador (Pasodoble) for Concert Band, Vedrò con mio diletto Aria:from the Opera ''Il Giustino" for C Euphonium & Keyboard, When the Saint's Go Marching In for Brass Quintet & Drumset, When the Saint's Go Marching In for Brass Band Quintet, American Patrol for Big Band (MFAO Classic Big Band Series), No 1 of Trois Gnossiennes for C Trombone, Euphonium & Piano (BC) low version, El Matador (Paso Doble) for North American Brass Band, Palestinian National Anthem My Redemption - Fedayeen Warrior - “فدائي” for Flexible Band, Homage for Brass Band (British style), Russian National Anthem for Symphony Orchestra, Vesti La Giubba for Bb Bass (Tuba) & Piano, English National Anthem (And Did Those Feet in Ancient Times) for Trombone Quintet, South African National Anthem for Brass Quintet (MFAO World National Anthem Series), Cambodian National Anthem (Nokoreach) for Brass Quintet (W0rld National Anthem Series), SUO-GAN for C Tuba & Piano (BC), Arioso (Sinfonia to Cantata Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe) for C Tuba & Harpsichord/Organ, Jubilation & Reflections for Concert/Wind Band, Air from the Suite No. 3 in D for Brass Band Quartet (Jazzy version), What Shall We Do With The Drunken Brass Band Quartet?, Pachelbel's Kanon for Brass Octet (Viennese Edition), Paddy's Day March for Brass Band, Pachelbel’s Kanon for Brass Octet, Londonderry Air for Concert/Wind Band and Air from the Suite No. 3 in D for Brass Band Quartet

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Una Furtiva Lagrima for C Tuba & Piano

Reviews of Una Furtiva Lagrima for C Tuba & Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...