Three Exercises - for Alto Recorder in G (Flute or Violin) and Piano

Full details...
page one of Three Exercises - for Alto Recorder in G (Flute or Violin) and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Three Exercises - Paul Burnell, composed 2019 Duration 7:20 For Treble Recorder in G (Flute or Violin) and Piano First performed by Hannah Cresswell (flute) and Constance Chow (piano) at the Southwell Music Festival, Southwell, UK, 26 August 2019.

The pianist may include additional pedalling at their own discretion, in a manner similar to the existing pedal markings.

With regard to the instruction for the recorder/flute/violin in the third movement b.162-168: the performer may either take a rest (tacet), or could ‘mime’ - and by that it is anticipated that the performer would not produce any sound. The miming can be a theatrical gesture, rather than looking for a sonic effect, as if the volume control has been turned to zero, but the visuals still show someone playing. However, there will likely be some fingering sound when miming and it is equally acceptable for the performer to exaggerate fingering sounds in these bars. The piano plays as normal in these bars.

The movements may be played separately or together in any order.

Programme note: 'Three Exercises' was written in 2019 for Ina Dau in response to a request for a piece for 'Ganassi Recorder'. The piece is written for an Alto Recorder in G with Piano, but it may also be played on any other appropriate instruments. The title reflects the repetitive nature of the music in each of the three movements.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Solo Alto Recorder + piano
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Three Exercises - for Alto Recorder in G (Flute or Violin) and Piano

Reviews of Three Exercises - for Alto Recorder in G (Flute or Violin) and Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...