Andante No. 1

Adam Darr
Full details...
page one of Andante No. 1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Adam Darr’s guitar music is some of the most expressive music found for the instrument in the mid-nineteenth century. Notice the abundance of expression and articulation markings in nearly every measure. I have used three sources for this engraving. The printed source is from the Freie Vereinigung fuer das Foerderung guter Guitaremusik Jahrgang No.1, Heft VIII (1904). The other two sources are in manuscript. One is probably a printer’s copy as it is nearly identical to the printed score. It looks to be in the hand of Theodolinde Hammerer (who submitted the work for publication). The other manuscript is in a hand that is similar, but not identical to Darr’s. This other manuscript is more detailed and supplies missing bass notes in measures four and five. The notes in brackets are from this manuscript. For more information on Darr see my DMA research paper "ADAM DARR (1811-1866) THE CAREER AND WORKS OF A GERMAN ROMANTIC GUITARIST AND ZITHERIST."

Score ID
Adam Darr
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Solo instrument (Classical Guitar [notation])
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Andante No. 1

Reviews of Andante No. 1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...