Trio for Clarinet, Horn, and Violoncello Op. 11, Mvt. #1 Pastorale

Full details...
page one of Trio for Clarinet, Horn, and Violoncello Op. 11, Mvt. #1 Pastorale

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I. Pastorale. Commissioned by clarinettist Melanie Morley. Though this piece is not officially programmatic, I intended to capture the feeling of an idyllic journey as the title would suggest. This is a contrapuntal, motivic piece which is classical in structure but contemporary in its tonal language. Extended harmonies prevail. There is much use of parallel harmonies as a blurring of the surface, though parallel voicings are avoided through inversion. Motifs are often fragmented or rhythmically displaced. There is much rhythmic conflict between the three instruments. The 6/8 time signature is often pulled by contrasting meters (often multiple simultaneous hemiolas).

The structure is sonata form. A fairly large amount of opening material is presented and brought to a climax through rhythmic tension. This material is then developed upon repeat. A transition brings forth a new key and the second theme in the cello. This theme is taken over by the clarinet and horn in canon before the exposition is repeated. The second repeat is some 20 measures shorter than the first, landing in yet a new key as a series of developmental episodes begins. A �false recapitulation� occurs in the dominant key and is immediately broken down, followed by more development. When the actual recapitulation does occur, it is under guise- similar to the episodes that came before. The transition remains but now modulates to the relative minor key instead of the chromatic 3rd as in the exposition. Finally, the second theme changes mode and assumes the home key. The movement is brought to a close with a coda.

I'm not aware of any other existing works for this combination of instruments. If anyone knows of other pieces specifically for clarinet, horn, and cello, please email me- I know musicians that would be interested to learn of this repertoire. Thanks.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Trio for Clarinet, Horn, and Violoncello Op. 11, Mvt. #1 Pastorale

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...