Sarabande (From Celebration Suite for Piano)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

'Celebration Suite' is a suite of dance pieces that I am writing for Louise Bunce for various occasions such as birthdays. The set will eventually have 5-6 movements and will form the first set of pieces for my second book of 'Romantic Miniatures for Piano'.

Above is the Sarabande (completed on the 4/10/06) which employs the standard sarabande rhythm and metre. The piece is in rounded binary form and would be ideal teaching material for someone learning the piano between Grades5-6. The melody is arranged in such a way to strengthen the right hand and improve voicing (bb9-16 have a lower right-hand melody with descant above, bb25-29 reverse this with the main melody using the 4th and 5th finger with a counter melody using the rest of the hand).

The rest of the suite will be posted as I complete it over this next year. The finale Gigue will be posted very soon as like with this movement, it was completed for Louise's birthday on the 29/10/06.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Guy Bunce. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Guy Bunce has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.