Farewell Fantasia in C Minor

Jordi Vives i Batlle
Full details...
page one of Farewell Fantasia in C Minor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I’ve sometimes read historical novels filled with quests of great import in faraway realms, and with a beloved at home praying for my safe return. (I can’t help but identify with the hero of such tales.) Saying farewell to my beloved before the adventure begins has always felt particularly poignant. To me, Jordi Vives i Batlle’s “Farewell Fantasia” portrays many of the emotions of such a farewell, and when I first heard this piece, I knew I wanted to perform it.

My friend Jordi graciously collaborated with me as I adapted the piece to be played on a violin instead of clarinet, and even more graciously has now dedicated the piece to me. I shall be premiering the work in Cedar City, Utah, in the autumn of 2001. His original version for Clarinet and Piano is at http://members.scorchmusic.com/jvives/. Matthew Scott Phillips has done a very different (and very lovely) arrangement of this same piece, which can be found at http://members.scorchmusic.com/matthewscottphillips/.

Should you wish to print this arrangement, please use the Score as your piano part. If you’re fortunate enough to play a 5-string violin like mine, use the 5-String part; for a normal violin use the Violin part instead. (Eleven notes are changed in the Violin part to keep it within range.) For performance rights, etc., please contact the composer: jordi.vives@tinyworld.co.uk.

Score ID
Jordi Vives i Batlle
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Farewell Fantasia in C Minor

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...