Home > Solo instrument + piano > Sonata No. 2 for oboe and piano, Op. 18 - II. Blues

Sonata No. 2 for oboe and piano, Op. 18 - II. Blues

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Oboe)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The 2nd oboe sonata is modern-classical (the most modern of 3 oboe sonatas). There are 3 movements: the 1st movement is moderately fast and in variation form; the 2nd movement is a slow blues and is in ABA form; the 3rd movement has a slow and a fast part. Please enjoy the digital performance made in Sibelius 5 with Garritan Personal Orchestra. On my YouTube-channel you can find videos with the scrolling score and play along videos (accompaniment without oboe).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Geert Van Hoorick. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Geert Van Hoorick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.