Shadow Valley. Part 1

Year of composition
Pat Mugridge
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Voice + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Not available

Shadow Valley is a short dramatic cantata which was written for a group of young professional musicians and premiered at the Buxton Festival Fringe. It may be costumed and acted, or sung as a concert piece. Eve has been diagnosed as terminally ill. As she contemplates her situation, her thoughts are portayed by two characters - a devil and the Angel of Hope. The devil's seductive ideas turn to vicious threats of eternal fires when Eve rejects him. She turns in great distress to Hope whose gentle Requiem brings calm and peace. The last section uses the latin words of a Requiem Mass. The work is divided into two parts on SibeliusMusic for convenience.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Les Emmans. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Les Emmans has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.