TCHAIKOVSKY Concerto for Violin and orchestra; transcribed for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Full details...
page one of <B>TCHAIKOVSKY</B> Concerto for Violin and orchestra; transcribed for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D Major was composed in less than a month during March and April 1878; however, its premier performance didn't occur until 1881 because the violinist whom Tchaikovsky intended to dedicate the piece–Leopold Auer–refused to perform it, citing technical issues (by that we mean the piece was too hard and he couldn't hack it). Instead it was premiered Adolf Brodsky, a relatively unknown Austrian violinist, who received the work by chance. This concerto is considered one of the pinnacles of the violin repertoire and it really is one of the masterworks of the romantic era.

Here it is transcribed into F major so that the saxophonist can play a part that reads mostly like the violin part, as it lays fairly easily on the fingers. It is edited, of course, to maintain practicality in the ranges of the instrument and practicality of articulation. (Double tonguing is possible on the saxophone, but really the original articulation wouldn't be feasible after about three minutes of the piece.) Other than that, it's a direct transcription.

To any saxophonist wishing to undertake this monster–just drop me an e-mail and for the cost of postage I'll send you a bound piano score and saxophone part.

–-UPDATED, JULY 14, 2007–- Further edited articulations. Now they're grouped in an even more feasible way. Added the alto sax part, as well.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo Alto Saxophone + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of TCHAIKOVSKY Concerto for Violin and orchestra; transcribed for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...