Psaume 46 Mvt. II

Full details...
page one of Psaume 46 Mvt. II

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Psalm is set for Orchestra and Chorus in 3 movements. The first movement opens with an orchestral fugue in which the strings represent strength. The agitation of the woodwinds and percussion infuses the presence of struggle. Structured by the intervals of the 4th and 6th, the chorus enters in an ultimate resolve of faith: Bondy� s� r�fij nou � f�s nou Li toujou la pou�l �d� l� probl�m yo vini. The melodic lines develop independently to the style of a patwa or chant to illustrate a self-realization of the texts, as well, to be of encouragement to others. The second movement employs the use of the Yanvalou, a traditional Haitian cross-rhythm of 2 against 3. The Yanvalou is most associated with a sacred Haitian spirit dance, of humility and assurance. The ceremonial rhythm, with origins in the Yoruban culture of West Africa, drives the texts: Minm l� lat� tranbl� � l� montay yo tounin nan lanm� nou pap jan�m p�. The middle section explores the rhythmic intricacies of the Afro-Haitian rhythms Yanvalou and Ibo, from the Voodoo tradition with an array of displaced rhythms and rhythmic interplay within the ensemble accompanied by a continuous ostinato. A variation of the opening motive starts the third movement. This time the motive is developed with brass. The texture is reminiscent of the motion of waves to support the many parallels to life of rivers. Introducing the texts: Gin yon rivy� k� ch�min Bondy�-a ki bay nou k� kontan. The total performance time is approximately 26 minutes.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Large mixed ensemble

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Psaume 46 Mvt. II

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...