Max Reger
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Classical music
Double reed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece entitled "Gigue" is number 9 from Reger's "Zehn kleine Vortragsst�cke", Op. 44. This translates roughly as "Ten little performance pieces". They were composed in 1900. The tempo text is "So schnell als m�glich" (As quick as possible), but this is unrealistic, because one player will be able to play it faster than another player, so dotted crotchet = 108 is the recommended speed. The dynamics are often more like written out phrasing - as little as they may seem, they are very important.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Stewart Hird. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to Stewart Hird has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.