Vivaldi Concerto for 4 Violins in D major Op.3 No.1

Paul Wood
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Related scores
Vivaldi Violin Concerto in A minor Op.3 No.6, Ochs atrib Handel Dank Sei Dir, Herr for String Orchestra, Sarasate Zigeunerweisen (Gypsy Airs) Op.20 for Violin and Orchestra, Beethoven Romance for Violin and Orchestra No.1 Op.40 in G Major, Boyce Symphony No.2 for String Orchestra, Brandenburg Concerto No.2, Corelli Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.10, Corelli Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.12, Strauss Figero Polka Op.320 for String Orchestra, Corelli Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.2, Corelli Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.5, Strauss Pizzicato Polka for String Orchestra, Telemann Concerto for 4 Violins in G Major, Corelli Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.9, Handel Arrival of the Queen of Sheba, Handel Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No.1, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.5, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.6, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.7, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.8, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.9, Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Violins and Cello in G minor Op.3 No.2, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No10, Mozart Violin Concerto No.3 for Violin and Orchestra K216, Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Violins in A major Op.3 No.5, Vivaldi Violin Concerto in E major Op.3 No.12, Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Violins in A minor Op.3 No.8, Vivaldi Violin Concerto in D minor Op.9 No.8, Vivaldi Violin Concerto Op.8 No.5, Boyce Symphony No.4 for 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F & Strings, Albinoni Sinfonia in G for String Orchestra, Fux Overture in C major for String Orchestra, Faure Berceuse for Violin and Strings, Tartini Adagio Cantabile for Violin and Piano, Mascagni Intermezzo, Paganini Cantabile for Violin and Strings, Dancla Deuxieme Solo Op. 77 for Violin and String Orchestra, Rimsky-Korsakov Chanson Indoue for Violin and String Orchestra, Vivaldi Concerto for 4 Violins in B minor for Violins and Piano, Saint Saens Danse Macabre for String Orchestra, Wieniawski L├ęgende for Violin and String Orchestra, de Fesch Concerto Op.3 No.1 for Strings and Seitz Student Concerto No.2 for Violin and String Orchestra

L'estro Armonico op. 3 ("Harmonic Inspiration" in Italian) is a collection of twelve concertos for 1, 2 and 4 violins written by Antonio Vivaldi in 1711. It largely augmented the reputation of Vivaldi as Il Prete Rosso; (The Red Priest). The collections were mostly put together in a chronological order.

JS Bach later transcribed concertos from this work for harpsichord solo (no.9, no.12), for organ solo (no.8, no.11) and for four harpsichords and strings (no.10).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Paul Wood. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Paul Wood has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.