The Elephant’s Child

Christine Gibbs
Full details...
page one of The Elephant’s Child

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Elephant’s Child is a collection of pieces for Junior String Orchestra based on the Just So story of the same name by Rudyard Kipling, which tells the story of how the Elephant got its trunk. It was originally written for the Elementary Strings Group at the Oldham Music Centre and has parts for first and second violins and first and second cellos, all in first position, with optional parts for double bass and viola, also in first position. There is also an optional simple piano accompaniment. The main pieces stand alone but can also be performed with a condensed version of Kipling’s tale using a Narrator and parts for the other characters, all of which are cued into the score and instrumental parts. The running time is approaching nine minutes for the music and ten minutes for the narration. The final piece is a short arrangement of Saint-Saens’ Elephant from The Carnival of the Animals. Contact for a pdf of the full narration.

Score ID
Christine Gibbs
R. Kipling
Easy (Grades 1-3)
12 minutes
String orchestra
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for The Elephant’s Child

Reviews of The Elephant’s Child

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...