BRASS BAND - French Chansons mvt. 2 - Il est bel et bon

Pierre Passereau
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Classical music
Brass band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Pierre Passereau is a French composer. A singer at Bourges cathedral, he contributed twenty-three chansons to anthologies published between 1533 and 1547. Most of these are humorous and/or obscene; his style is lively, with descriptive passages reminiscent of Janequin. Il est bel et bon became popular in a keyboard arrangement by Girolamo Cavazzoni and can be translated as "He's A Pretty Cuckoo"

Now, this is part of 4 French Renaissance pieces that will form a suite. I first heard this years ago as a quartet played by the Philip Jones Ensemble and have always liked it. It's one of those pieces that seems perfect in it's own sense and cannot really be tampered with much. So, this is more a transcription than an arrangement which uses the contrasting sounds of instruments and sections of the brass band to carry it off! Hope you like it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tom Donaldson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Tom Donaldson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.