Adam Darr
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Acoustic Guitar [notation])
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

The publishing of Adam Darr's multi-movement "Sonate" may stir up some controversy. This edition is based on the engraver's copy. Which contains three movements. These three movements were, however, originally published separately with no reference to one another. The three movements are: Sonate, Andante religioso, and Rondino. For the first time all three movements are published together, perhaps as Darr had intended. The printed source is from the Freie Vereinigung zur F�derung guter Guitaremusik Jahrgang No.5, Heft 3, 4, & 5 (1908). If this work, in fact, is a three-movement sonata it is a significant discovery. To date, the only other known multi-movement Romantic era sonata for solo guitar is from the Russian Alexandr Vetrov. Not only that, but Darr�s Sonata deserves deeper scrutiny. Darr demonstrates a deep understanding of the sonata form, with a firm grasp of early Beethovian harmonic usage. In fact all three movements are quite Beethovenesque. No other guitarist, other than Fernando Sor comes close to this style. For more information on Darr see my DMA research paper "ADAM DARR (1811-1866) THE CAREER AND WORKS OF A GERMAN ROMANTIC GUITARIST AND ZITHERIST." If your interested in my book or my notes on Darr's "Sonate" contact me at

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.