�Requiem Mass� is a large choral work composed by Wayne L. Davies and consists of eight movements (Requiem Aeternam, Kyrie Eleison, Recordare, Lacrymosa, Sanctus and Benedictus, Agnus Dei, Pie Jesu, and In Paradisum), which are linked to form a single, continuous piece of music. Arranged in this form for two solo soprano (or solo soprano and solo alto) voices, SATB, string quartet (or string orchestra), flute, oboe, harp and organ, this piece of music will be performed by the Master Singers, Inc. Chorale of Northeast Ohio at a memorial concert for the late Pope John Paul II to be given at the Shrine Church of Saint Stanislaus, Ohio on 6th April 2008.

The �Requiem Mass� was written between 1993-1995 and formed part of the composer�s A Level Music portfolio. Akin to Faure�s �Requiem Mass�, the Davies �Requiem� dispenses with the �Dies Irae� and includes the �In Paradisum�, ending a C minor work in C major to symbolise the evolution of thought from despair of the passing away of a loved one to finally acceptance and a celebration of their life. This work is dedicated to the memory of Ms Maisie Cartwright.

This is the vocal score to accompany the 'Requiem Mass'.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Wayne I. L. Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Wayne I. L. Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.