European Dances (Danses Europ�enne) for Woodwinds and Strings

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

I wrote this piece out of a desire to blend together the versatility of both the woodwind quintet, and the string quartet. I named it European Dances because the style and structure of all three movements resonated with different aspects of major cultures in Europe such as those of France, Austria, Hungary, and Great Britain. The first two movements are rather ambiguous in their national associations, but not so much as to prevent the listener from creating their own stories to go along with them. The third movement is definitely mainly influenced by the music of Hungary, and Eastern Europe.

J'ai �crit cette pi�ce sur un d�sir de se fondre ensemble la polyvalence � la fois du quintette � vent, et le quatuor � cordes. Je l'ai appel� parce que les danses europ�ennes de style et la structure de l'ensemble des trois mouvements, en r�sonance avec les diff�rents aspects des grandes cultures en Europe, telles que celles de la France, l'Autriche, la Hongrie et la Grande-Bretagne. Les deux premiers mouvements sont plut�t ambigus dans leurs associations nationales, mais pas autant que d'emp�cher l'auditeur de cr�er leurs propres histoires pour aller avec eux. Le troisi�me mouvement est d�finitivement principalement influenc� par la musique de la Hongrie et l'Europe de l'Est.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Lucas van de Ven. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Lucas van de Ven has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.