Scarlatti Sonata K208 for String Quartet

D Scarlatti
Full details...
page one of Scarlatti Sonata K208 for String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

K208 is one of the better known of the 500 or so sonatas that Domenico Scarlatti wrote for harpsichord.

This beautiful sonata is now available for String Quartet in a new edition, arranged by David McKeown. This is a really an accompanied solo for Violin 1, though First and Seconds could conceivably take turns to play the lead part on each repeat section.The lead part is for an experienced player; slow but lyrical, making demands on the players’s control. The other parts are very simple, but again, care must be taken to keep the long note parts in balance and tune with each other.

This piece will make a unique and exciting addition to any concert program, amateur or professional. Scarlatti often conceived of his sonatas in pairs, slow then fast, and the perfect partner to this sonata is the fugue sonata K30, also available for String Quartet on my pages.

Score ID
D Scarlatti
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
String quartet
Classical music and Other
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Scarlatti Sonata K208 for String Quartet

Reviews of Scarlatti Sonata K208 for String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...