Widor 6th Organ Symphony - Allegro

C M Widor
Full details...
page one of Widor 6th Organ Symphony - Allegro

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Whilst not as well known as the famous Toccata (final movement of the 5th Symphony), this, the first movement of the 6th Symphony for organ, is nonetheless very well known and deservedly so.

Written between 1887 and 1894, the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th symphonies were produced to explore and exploit the full scope of sonorities of which Cavaill�-Coll’s organ at St-Sulpice is capable.

The Allegro from the 6th Symphony is an excellent demonstration piece for the Cavaill�-Coll organ at full throttle, and no less so for an accomplished brass band.

Individual parts are available on this site as usual but, if you have a copy of the Sibelius software, provided you email me proof of purchase of the score, I will happily supply the .sib files of the parts for free.

Score ID
C M Widor
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Brass band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Widor 6th Organ Symphony - Allegro

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...