String Quartet no. 2 in c Minor Op. 13, Mvt. 4, Andante

Full details...
page one of String Quartet no. 2 in c Minor Op. 13, Mvt. 4, Andante

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Movement 4 � Andante The only movement in a major key, the Andante contrasts with the general darkness of the surrounding movements. The introductory ideas were composed at my mother�s farm; the music serves as an idyll sanctuary as does the place it represents. There is a classical-period stateliness, supported by �alberti� accompaniment figures in the beginning. This is no nostalgia piece though, as the classical elements are used as food for development. A rounded binary form with the exposition repeat written out in variation. There is a double development section, due to a false recapitulation which unexpectedly changes mode and leads to additional episodes. As the piece progresses, the tension of 3 against 2 rhythms increases until the end.

For parts, see complete score.

To see a video performance of this work, check out:

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet no. 2 in c Minor Op. 13, Mvt. 4, Andante

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...