5) Crystal Line (Fragmented Connexions)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Fragmented Connexions explores how the Clarinet, Viola, and Piano can be blended in two ways: first, the instruments are made to sound like one another and second, the instruments are made to work together to form a single united timbre or one three-player instrument.�The work is unified by two common pitch rows (derived from the movement Soundscape) and the rhythms presented in Sonic Theatre I.

The follwing are taken from the notes in the score.

Fragmented Connexions consists of seven movements:

Sonic Theatre I




Crystal Line


Sonic Theatre II

The piece can be performed in one of three ways.�First it is possible to perform the seven movements as documented above.�Alternatively, the movement order can be re-arrangedso long as the two Sonic Theatres frame position is retained.�The third method requires a creative approach by the players.�Each movement contains one or more � signs.�Each � denotes the end or beginning of a fragment.�For example, movement 3 (Scherzo) consists of four fragments (bb1-6, 7-23, 24-41, 42-55).�This third way allows the players to break the piece into its individual fragments and recompose the structure to form new movements.�It might be decided that a fragment from another movement is inserted at a given � or that the fragments are completely reassembled.�The two Sonic Theatre movements do not contain any � marks.�That said, they could be broken up in any manner the players see fit and could potentially be used as bridging material as well as framing movements.�When mixing or reassembling fragments, players can reuse individual fragments as many times as desired or exclude them completely, so long as the whole piece lasts between 7 & 15 minutes.�When joining some fragments, players will have to be judicious in their approach to linking them; minor changes can be made to the parts at the join points to accommodate such segueing.�Players should also be careful to consider physical limitations to the re-assembling process such as page turning and the use of special effects that require time to prepare (such as in Soundscape).�A possible way of dealing with the former issue is to photocopy the score and cut and paste it in the desired manner.�

Theatrical Production In live performance a number of theatrical devices can be employed to enhance the audiences experience.�In the following notes some suggestions for lighting and other elements are given.�In the case of a true fragmented performance (version three above), the theatrical design should be adapted to fit the fragmented structure in a suitable manner.

Crystal Line This movement consists of a single isorhythmic line which is coloured by the three instruments in some cases heterophonically.�The movement should be played very dryly with themen image of a crystal reflecting the light in mind.�Coloured lighting effects should be used to convey the sparkling of a crystal turning in and reflecting the light.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Guy Bunce. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Guy Bunce has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.