Violin Sonata No.2 in G minor HWV 368 for Violin & Viola

Full details...
page one of Violin Sonata No.2 in G minor HWV 368 for Violin & Viola

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece is commonly known as Violin Sonata No.2, which is Sonata X in Handel-Werkausgabe (1886) edited by Friedrich Chrysander (1826-1901). This piece has a problem of authenticity. The reliable sources tell as follows. Chrysander’s edition (1886) was based on two publications when Handel was in life; Roger’s edition of Opus 1 (Amsterdam, 1722) and Walsh’ edition (London, 1732). Actually, Roger’s edition (1722) was a piratical edition printed by Mr. Walsh. He pretended to be a distributing agent of Roger’s edition in London. He was immune from litigation by Mr. Roger, because he had been died at that time. Walsh added two violin sonatas to keep the total number of violin sonatas to be six. These are Roger No.10 and No.12, which correspond to so-called Handel’s Violin Sonata No.2 and No.3. Mr. Walsh fond a large sale of Roger’s edition, he started to make a new edition using his name, Walsh’ edition (1732). These two editions were without Handel’s permission. Mr. Walsh replaced the two pirated sonatas when he published Walsh’ edition. These two are so-called Handel’s Violin Sonata No.5 and No.6. These four sonatas are not by Handel, but there is no record of the composers.

Mr. Walsh was not fair, however, he left four charming violin sonatas by Anonymouses in Handel’s period for posterity. This sonata, so-called Handel’s Violin Sonata No.2, is originally for Violin Solo and bass-continuo, which is usually played by Violin, Violoncello & Keyword, however, it is very fascinating to play it as a duet of Violin & Viola. Players would enjoy a dialogue between two parts.

Score ID
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
Duet of Solo Violins
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Violin Sonata No.2 in G minor HWV 368 for Violin & Viola

Reviews of Violin Sonata No.2 in G minor HWV 368 for Violin & Viola

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...