Piano Trio No. 1 - 1. Introduction: Andante, molto tranquillo

Full details...
page one of Piano Trio No. 1 - 1. Introduction: Andante, molto tranquillo

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work was completed in August 2008 and is my first abstract chamber work, with no programmatic context, divided into two closely related yet highly contrasting movements. There are two salient musical elements that form the basis of the entire work, both of which are introduced early on in the opening movement: the first, a mysterious chord built up entirely of perfect fourths and tritones in the pattern C, F, B, E, A#, D#, A etc. The second idea is a four-note shape that opens the work: a step up from a central note, then a larger step down and then another step down further and its inversion and retrograde. All the material of the work, both harmonic and thematic, evolves from either two of these ideas, although they are often used in combination.

The first movement acts as a brief, calm and sparse introduction. It opens with a muted violin melody, which is then joined by muted cello as the piano introduces a variant of the main theme. The second subject of the next movement is then foreshadowed and then the opening is recapitulated, the harmonies now a fifth lower, although the piano enters with the same melody in the same key as it did earlier, creating tonal ambiguity.

The austere second movement forms the main substance of the piece. Marked Allegro concentrato, its contrapuntal textures are thick and they become more and more severe as the work progresses. It is very uncompromising and strict in its handling of material, and harsh dissonances pervade the harmonic palette as the salient intervals - perfect fourths and tritones - continually clash. Considerable tension is reached until the violence ceases and a passage of calm emerges, although not without temporary intrusions by the piano. Here both subjects of the movement are combined in multiple augmentation. The opening is recapitulated before the work is crowned with a brief and resolute coda.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Piano trio
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Piano Trio No. 1 - 1. Introduction: Andante, molto tranquillo

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...