Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra

Derek Bourgeois
Full details...
page one of Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was originally written for Brass Quintet in 1972, and was tried out by the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. Alas it proved too difficult and tiring even for them, so the composer recast it as a Concerto for Brass Quintet and Brass Band. In 1999 John Wallace approached the composer to see if he would rewrite it for orchestra as the Wallace Collection had a series of concerts in Odessa including one with orchestra. The newly transcribed work was first performed there in 2000. It is in three movements which play without a break, and it exploits all sorts of brass techniques which are rarely seen.

Score ID
Derek Bourgeois
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...