Metamorphosis on theme of paganini ( for solo piano)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Caprice No. 24 in A minor is the final caprice of Niccol� Paganini's 24 Caprices, and a famous work for solo violin. The work, in the key of A minor, consists of a theme, 11 variations, and a finale. The caprice has provided a rich seam of material for works by subsequent composers. Compositions based on it, and transcriptions of it, include: Boris Blacher − Variations on a Theme by Paganini (1947), for orchestra Witold Lutosławski − Variations on a Theme by Paganini (1940-41), for two pianos; in 1978 he made a version for piano and orchestra. Franz Liszt - Grande Fantaisie de bravoure sur La Clochette for solo piano. S.420 (1832-4) Franz Liszt − the sixth and last of his �tudes d'ex�cution transcendante d'apr�s Paganini for solo piano, S.140 (1838) Franz Liszt - the above work (S.140/6) was revised and simplified in 1850 as the sixth and last of the Six Grandes �tudes de Paganini for solo piano, S.141) Franz Liszt - Grand Fantaisie (Variations) sur des th�mes de Paganini for solo piano, S.700

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ehsan Saboohi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Ehsan Saboohi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.